When Was The Bible (Old and New Testament) Written?

The amazing story of how we got the Bible started thousands of years ago. These questions are often asked by people with no cogent answers to the questions. Some probe further by asking when the Bible was written, where and who wrote the Old and the New Testament.

The Bible contains many different books which were written at different times by different people. Many people have asked the question, when exactly was the Bible written. This is generally a common question which shouldn’t be hard to answer.

When was the bible written

The Catholic Bible is one that comprises of the whole 73 book canon which is recognized by the Catholic Church. It is made up of the Old Testament which has 46 books and the New Testament containing 27 books.

Of all these books, Tobit, Judith, 1 and 2 Maccabees, Wisdom, Sirach, Baruch, some parts of Esther and some parts of Daniel are deuterocanonical and are found in the Bibles of Eastern Christianity. These mentioned books are usually not found in the Protestant Bible.

The Old Testament

Bible old testamentThe Old Testament books were written at different times. Scholars have it that some of the books were written nearly to the end of the thirteenth century BC or probably around 1200 BC.

The last book of the Old Testament to be written was 1 Maccabees. The Old Testament is divided into four different books which are:

  1. Pentateuch containing the books of Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy.
  2. Historical books containing Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1st Samuel, 2nd Samuel, 1st Kings, 2nd Kings, 1st Chronicles, 2nd Chronicles, Ezra, Nehemiah, Tobit, Judith, Esther, 1 Maccabees and 2 Maccabees.
  3. Sapiential books containing The books of Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Solomon, Wisdom, and Sirach.
  4. The Prophetic books which contain Isaiah, Jeremiah, Lamentations, Baruch, Ezekiel, Daniel, Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, and Malachi.

The New Testament

This New Testament was written between 50 AD and 100 AD.

bible new testamentThe New Testament is also divided into different books which are:

  1. The Gospels which contains Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John.
  2. Historical books containing only The Book of Acts.
  3. Pauline Epistles which contains Romans, 1st Corinthians, 2nd  Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1st Thessalonians, 2nd Thessalonians, 1st Timothy, 2nd Timothy, Titus, Philemon, and Hebrews.
  4. General Epistles which contains James, 1st Peter, 2nd Peter, 1st John, 2nd John, 3rd John, and Jude.
  5. The Last being Revelation.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *